Skip to content

Hello Empire Avenue Friends: Tempus Fugit

February 10, 2013

tempis fugit

A couple of months ago, I suspended my account for health reasons. I’ve not talked about it much, and people are still finding out that I was gone. 🙂 This is where I hope to write about that adventure.

The greatest of my issues was a massive brain seizure three years ago. After a six-week in the hospital and amnesia, I found myself in a new State (Pennsylvania), without a friend and  with massive memory loss. I hooked up to Facebook, found my old friends by linking one memory to another, and then found Empire Avenue, where I found more friends and a structure for getting back to work.

Since then, two of my best friends have had brain tumors, and one of them is gone I suspended my account with Empire Avenue, and now am back.

I love looking at the big picture; I’m still not great with the details. I hope to communicate what I’ve learned about being on Empire Avenue, with lots and lots of physical challenges here. Give me a few days: I will catch you up further as I catch up myself!

From → Background

6 Comments
  1. Hope you are getting better and better each day Susan

    Like

  2. We are glad to have you back Susan. My dad went through a cardiac arrest and lost oxygen to the brain and was in a coma for 20 days. When he woke he had lost the ability to talk and walk and had to learn how to swallow again. We had him for 1 year after that event and he died from Colon Cancer within 6 weeks of them finding it. I remember how hard it was for him to speak and communicate. Having family and friends helped him.

    Like

    • Thank you. Michelle. Yes, family and friends are a huge help in recovery. I wish I hadn’t moved so far away from my support system to cut costs, but the internet and gaming does help a good deal 🙂 All my best to you.

      Like

  3. Bowing to your beauty and courage Susan… Oxo…

    Like

  4. You know where to find us, when you wish to 😀 Love and Hugs – Dom and Domino

    Like

Leave a Reply

xkcd

The blag of the webcomic

A Little Blog of Books

Book reviews and other literary-related musings

Nonprofit Chronicles

Journalism about nonprofit organizations and their impact

DantéBéa

PHOTOGRAPHIE - COLLAGE - PEINTURE

GP MCLEER

\\ racking up miles in the name of the arts //

The Herb Society of America Blog

Learn • Explore • Grow

leadership for sustainability

enabling human potential to develop in generative ways for a better planet

Grants.gov Community Blog

Connecting the grant community to #LearnGrants

Ruth Catchen - Reach for the Stars!

Cutting edge educational topics discussed here. Weigh in on topics of the times and don’t forget to use your imagination!

Art Nouveau

Blog about getting to know Art Nouveau

Beyond Bridges

People | Passion | Platforms

Discover

A daily selection of the best content published on WordPress, collected for you by humans who love to read.

Editors' Blog!

Cleaver Magazine :: cutting edge literature and art

The Bluest i

Writer Michelle R. Smith's Personal Blog

Ricardo Levins Morales Art Studio

Writings on the arts of social change by Ricardo Levins Morales

Social Media 4 Good

Humanity + Technology

Artists & Climate Change

Celebrating artists who explore the intersection of arts & climate change.

Ellis Metcalf

A marketing fresher getting to grips with blogging and social media

